Mercer County Election Results

Mercer Township voters turned down a proposal to allow UTVs and AVTs on township roads by a vote of 412 to 305.

The four candidates elected to the Mercer Township Board were John Swearingen, Jeff McWhorter, Tom Lloyd and Phyllis Bewley.

Jay Doherty was elected to the Aledo City Council defeating Terry Bewley 83-57.

Mark Heater won the Joy Village President race, defeating Todd Heath 116 to 15. And Paul Hampton, Joshua McKinney, Noah Livermore and Don Wilken won Joy Village Board seats.

Michael Lester is the new Viola Village President. He defeated incumbent Kirk Doonan 146 to 88.

In Keithsburg, former city clerk Sharon Reason was elected mayor, defeating incumbent Allen Henshaw 119 to 63 and Lisa Wessels, Donnie Cox and Melonie McLaughlin were elected to the city council.

In Greene Township, Michael Nelson defeated Joe Lower for highway commissioner. The vote was 202 to 197. And Jeffrey Whittington, Karen King, Chris Johnston and Susan DeBlock were elected to the Greene Township Board.

Nathan Frieden won the New Boston Township Highway Commissioner post over Doug Giles 122 to 67.

There was one contested New Boston City Council race as Christian King defeated Keith Schreurs Jr. 27-14.

The Richland Grove Township Highway Commissioner position was retained by Jeff Weber, holding back a write-in challenger 184-100.

The Sherrard Public Library District tax increase referendum goes down to defeat 278 to 185.
And David Lloyd defeats Andrew Lower for Perryton Township Highway Commissioner 92-58.