Mercer County Farm Bureau Foundation Awards $8,000 In Scholarships

Mercer County students will have help paying for their college education during the 2017-2018 school year, courtesy of scholarships awarded by the Mercer County Farm Bureau Foundation.
The Mercer County Farm Bureau Foundation, the charitable arm of the Mercer County Farm Bureau, awarded $8,000 to eight students pursuing degrees in agriculture-related fields, based on their academic ability, leadership involvement, and professional career goals.
Those receiving scholarships for the 2017-2018 school year are Matt Lloyd (Black Hawk East), Clayton Truman (Truman State University), Rachel Hawk (University of Illinois), Gage Hank (Lake Land College), Adam Lloyd (Oklahoma State University), Taylor Carey (Western Illinois University), Carolyn King (Iowa State University), and John Jacob DeBlock (Black Hawk East). For more information on the Mercer County Farm Bureau Foundation scholarship program, how to establish a scholarship, or to donate to the general scholarship fund, call the Farm Bureau office at (309) 582-5116 or email Applications for the 2018-2019 school year will be available by February 1, 2018.