Closings & Cancellations

The City of Aledo’s  E-Cycle & Paint Drop-off Service in Aledo resume on the 3rd Thursday of the month in February.  Feb. 18th from 9 a.m. – Noon & 12:30 pm – 3 p.m. at the City Garage.

Mercer County Senior Center, Aledo – Mercer County Senior Center will be open for staff only, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. daily. They will no longer conduct any face-to-face appointments. No one besides staff will be allowed in the building. All appointments must be made and finalized via the phone, please call 309-582-5492 or 309-582-7221. When someone calls, they will be directed on the proper procedures for their individual needs.

University of Illinois Extension’s unit offices serving Henry, Mercer, Rock Island and Stark Counties – temporarily closed until further notice.

Rock Island County Soil and Water Conservation District – Spring Tree Sale is cancelled. Fish can still be ordered online. Go to rockislandswcd.org to order and for more information.

Aledo United Methodist Church – For more information, check their website at myaledoumc.com.

Mercer County Family YMCA – Please see the Mercer County Family Y Facebook page for more details.

Illinois Department of Veterans Affairs – representative will no longer be having local hours at the Mercer County Veterans Assistance Office on the first and third Thursday of each month until further notice.

Mercer County Health Department, Aledo – facility not open to the public, but essential services available by appointment only – 582-3759.

Mercer County Family Crisis Center, Aledo – by appointment only – 582-SAFE (7233).

Edwards River Public Library, Aledo – Please call the library at 309-582-2032 for more information.

New Windsor Public Library – See their Facebook page for more information.

Viola Public Library District – See the Facebook page and the website for more information. Curbside pickup is available, please call the library at 596-2620 and leave a message if we don’t pick up or email us at violapld@hotmail.com.

Mercer County Courthouse, Aledo – Mercer County Courthouse is open, but, before you visit, you may want to call the appropriate Department as listed here: Administration, 309-582-8107, Ronald Fullerlove; Animal Control, 309-221-4744, Matt Lower; Assessor Office, 309-582-4747, Mary McClellan; Circuit Clerk, 309-582-7122, Kristin Relander; County Clerk, 309-582-7021, Sara Blaser; County Treasurer, 309-582-2524, Bev Lower; Highway Department, 309-582-2715, Matt Lower; Probation, 309-582-5169, Teresa Smith; States Attorney, 309-582-5381, Meeghan Lee. 

The Mercer /Rock Island County USDA Service Center at 308 SE 8th Ave, Aledo, IL – Producers may reach the staff members via their direct extensions or by email to conduct official business.

TO CONTACT FSA, dial 309-582-5153 and use the specific extension of who you are trying to reach:

FSA:

Vickie Schwas – vickie.schwass@usda.gov – ext. 105
Robin Trimble –  robin.trimble@usda.govext. 108
Kim Dean – kim.dean@usda.gov – ext. 109
Kealy Simkins – kealy.simkins@usda.gov – ext.100
Sandra Waddell – Sandra.waddell@usda.gov – ext.106

FOR NRCS or S&WCD, call 309-582-5153, ext.3

NRCS: Jason Hessman – jason.hessman@usda.gov
Paul Grissom – paul.grissom@usda.gov

S&WCD: Carmen Grey – carmen.grey@il.nacdnet.net