Mercer County Included In Pritzker Disaster Declaration

Photo credit: Maxine Henry

Illinois’ governor says the flooding in Illinois is worse and more frequent than in the past. Nearly a third of Illinois is covered by disaster declarations, including Mercer, Henderson and Rock Island Counties. Illinois Governor J.B. Pritzker has declared disasters in 34 counties, most of them along the Illinois or Mississippi rivers. The governor says this year’s flooding is worse, and the recent flooding is more frequent than in the past.

Pritzker says those in flood prone areas need to consider investing in flood insurance. The disaster declarations will help local governments and some businesses, but people are mostly on their own.